Northeast Region – Eastern Canada Division

The ECD Officials

President:  Greg Williams, Canterbury, NB

Greg is the President/Superintendent of the division. His main modeling interests are in HO scale, particularly the Shogomoc Subdivision of the CPR in New Brunswick. Greg’s training in electronics helps him help others with DCC and other related model railroad electronics. In his spare time, he dabbles in On30 and whatever else might spark an interest at any given time. If it rides on rails, that is.

Vice-President:  Steve McMullin, Saint John, NB

Steve McMullin has been a model railroader since he was a teenager, and first joined the NMRA at the age of 17.  His basement-filling HO-scale Carleton Railway layout hosts regular operating sessions.  Steve has been a member of the Saint John Society of Model Railroaders for many years.  He has also served as a Director for the NMRA’s Northeastern Region and as President of NMRA Canada.  


Treasurer:  Bob Henry, Rothesay, NB

Bob has been a model railroader for over 30 years, as both a member of the Saint John Society of Model Railroaders and a founding member of the Eastern Canada Division of the NMRA. Bob’s involved in the Saint John club’s HO modular group over the years has seen him build a number of displays. He also has an 11’ x 11’ On30 switching layout at his home in Rothesay, NB.

Secretary: Fergus Francey

The myth, the legend, the infamous and most talented. he started his MR career dabbling in the dark arts of n scale, O scale and even S and G scale before realizing his path was best suited with the premier scale, known as HO…

Communications: Lou McIntyre, Quispamsis, NB

Lou is a long-time HO modeller operating his basement empire, the Hampton & St Martins Railway. He is also an active member of the Saint John Society of Model Railroaders currently serving as Secretary Treasurer. He has a pair of HO scale modules that he sets up as part of the club’s annual show. He is also the editor of the NMRA’s Eastern Canada Division newsletter, the Hot Box.

Achievement Program: James Whatley , Moncton, NB


Achievement Program:  James Whatley, MMR, Moncton, NB

James serves as our Division’s Achievement Program Chair and helps organize our monthly third Thursday Zoom seminar series and various Modelling Day events.  James’ primary interest is centered on Canadian National Railways in the classic era.  He enjoys researching and building rolling stock and structures.  James has been a NMRA member since 1971 and earned the Master Model Railroader designation in 2022.

Membership: Dave Gunn

Dave has been a model railroader and a member of the NMRA for some 40 years. He was a member of the British Region before moving back to Canada to retire in 2006.  He became the first Master Model Railroader in the British Region in 1995 and has a layout in his basement in Tatamagouche based on Canadian National in the 1950’s period HO scale.  It very loosely represents the run between Napanee and Ottawa, a 110 mile run connecting Ottawa with the Toronto – Montreal main line. All of the structures are scratchbuilt and a lot of the freight stock is either scratched or from craftsman type kits.  He enjoys building in bass wood the most.  He is also one of the founding members of this Division under the wonderful leadership of our President Greg Williams. 

Webmaster: Rob Leathley, Hampton, NB

Rob is a retired healthcare professional and educator with more than 40 years of experience. He is currently building a medium sized N-Scale layout in his basement. He has a special interest in model railroad electronics and 3D printing.